Skip to Main Content

SUNY Schenectady County College Special Collections: Home

A guide to the holdings of SUNY Schenectady County Community College's Special Collections

About Special Collections

SUNY Schenectady County Community College's Special Collections is a department of Begley Library dedicated to preserving the history of SUNY Schenectady County Community College and the former Hotel Van Curler (the building which is now known as Elston Hall). Materials in Special Collections include records, photographs, memorabilia, college publications, scrapbooks, videos, books, and more. The majority of these materials are unique to SUNY Schenectady County Community College and cannot be found anywhere else.

Most materials in Special Collections must be viewed in person in the library under the supervision of the Special Collections librarian or another librarian, with the exception of our digitized content. Use the "finding aids" tab on this research guide to access the finding aids for our collections in order to determine which materials you would like to view. To access our digitized materials use the links provided under the "digital materials" tab on this guide.

To make an appointment to view a collection, or if you have any other questions, please contact Director of Library Services, Jacquie Keleher at kelehejs@sunysccc.edu or 518-381-1241.  

Aerial View, Hotel Van Curler, 1930s

Community College Study Committe, 1969

Classroom, 1970s

President Larsson and Student, 1974

Students in Computer Class, 1990s

President Basil and Time Capsule, 2001

Aerial View SCCC, 2001