Research Guides: April 2023: Home

WELCOME

Welcome to the Begley Buzz, Begley Library's monthly newsletter. Read on to learn what's happening in the library this month.

CELEBRATE NATIONAL LIBRARY WEEK WITH US!

Oh, look now I can read more about this story! This is awesome. The whole story is here but it's not displayed on the screen all at once. Cool! Now I have to see if this is accessible or find a way to make it accessible.

PARTICIPATE IN NATIONAL LIBRARY WEEK

Begley Library Murder Mystery Scavenger Hunt April 24th – 28th Who killed Anita B. Reading? Scour the library looking for clues. Uncover the perpetrator and receive a prize! Background image: Black background with a yellow crime scene tape stating “Crime Scene Do Not Cross”

Three rows from left to right. First Row: “Free” is written horizontally on a green book mark. SUNY Schenectady Second Row: Book Table Begley Library April 24th – 28th Graphic of an open book on a table with a blurred book shelf in the background. Third Row: You are welcomed to bring your own unwanted books to leave for others.

Image of small round candy in the shape of a rainbow heart. The heart colors are blue, green, yellow, orange, and red. How many candies are in the jar?? Take a guess! The closest wins the whole jar! Graphic of a blue question mark. *Only 1 guess per person Graphic of a jar of candy. Graphic of a dark red question mark. Graphic of an orange question mark.

NEW TO THE COLLECTION

BOOKS

Here is a selection of books recently added to the library's collection. These are all available for check-out. If you need help finding them, ask a librarian.

The Oxford Handbook of Political Psychology by Leonie Huddy (Editor); David O. Sears (Editor); Jack S. Levy (Editor)
Call Number: JA74.5 .O94 2013
ISBN: 9780199760107
Publication Date: 2013-09-04
Political psychology applies what is known about human psychology to the study of politics. It examines how, for example, people reach political decisions on topics such as voting, party identification, and political attitudes as well as how leaders mediate political conflicts and make foreignpolicy decisions.The Oxford Handbook of Political Psychology gathers together a distinguished group of scholars from around the world to shed light on such questions as: how does personality affect leadership style? What are the origins of racial prejudice? How does violent communal conflict originate?Focusing first on political psychology at the individual level (attitudes, values, decision-making, ideology, personality) and then moving to the collective (group identity, mass mobilization, political violence), this fully interdisciplinary volume covers models of the mass public and politicalelites and addresses both domestic issues and foreign policy.Now with new material providing an up-to-date account of cutting-edge research within both psychology and political science, this is an essential reference for scholars and students interested in the intersection of the two fields.
Policing the City by Didier Fassin; édéric Debomy; Jake Raynal (Illustrator); Rachel Gomme (Translator)
Call Number: HV8203 .F38 2022
ISBN: 9781635422504
Publication Date: 2022-03-15
Adapted from the landmark essay Enforcing Order, this striking graphic novel offers an accessible inside look at policing and how it leads to discrimination and violence. What we know about the forces of law and order often comes from tragic episodes that make the headlines, or from sensationalized versions for film and television. These gripping accounts obscure two crucial aspects of police work- the tedium of everyday patrols under constant pressure to meet quotas, and the banality of racial discrimination and ordinary violence. Around the time of the 2005 French riots, anthropologist and sociologist Didier Fassin spent fifteen months observing up close the daily life of an anticrime squad in one of the largest precincts in the Paris region. His unprecedented study, which sparked intense discussion about policing in the largely working-class, immigrant suburbs, remains acutely relevant in light of all-too-common incidents of police brutality against minorities. This new, powerfully illustrated adaptation clearly presents the insights of Fassin's investigation, and draws connections to the challenges we face today in the United States as in France.
Racial Equity on College Campuses by Royel M. Johnson (Editor); Uju Anya (Editor); Liliana M. Garces (Editor)
Call Number: Two hour reserve / Main desk ; LC212.42 .R345 2022
ISBN: 9781438487076
Publication Date: 2022-02-01
The current socio-political moment--rife with racial tensions and overt bigotry--has exacerbated longstanding racial inequities in higher education. While educational scholars have developed conceptual tools and offered data-informed recommendations for rooting out racism in campus policies and practices, this work is largely inaccessible to the public. At the same time, practitioners and policymakers are increasingly called on to implement quick solutions to what are, in fact, profound, structural problems. Racial Equity on College Campuses bridges this gap, marshaling the expertise of nineteen scholars and practitioners to translate research-based findings into actionable recommendations in three key areas: university leadership, teaching and learning, and student and campus life. The strategies gathered here will prove useful to institutional actors engaged in both real-time and long-term decision-making across contexts--from the classroom to the boardroom.
Rolling Warrior by Judith Heumann; Kristen Joiner
Call Number: JC571 .H493 2021
ISBN: 9780807003596
Publication Date: 2021-06-15
As featured in the Oscar-nominated documentary Crip Camp, and for readers of I Am Malala, one of the most influential disability rights activists in US history tells her story of fighting to belong. "If I didn't fight, who would?" Judy Heumann was only 5 years old when she was first denied her right to attend school. Paralyzed from polio and raised by her Holocaust-surviving parents in New York City, Judy had a drive for equality that was instilled early in life. In this young readers' edition of her acclaimed memoir, Being Heumann, Judy shares her journey of battling for equal access in an unequal world-from fighting to attend grade school after being described as a "fire hazard" because of her wheelchair, to suing the New York City school system for denying her a teacher's license because of her disability. Judy went on to lead 150 disabled people in the longest sit-in protest in US history at the San Francisco Federal Building. Cut off from the outside world, the group slept on office floors, faced down bomb threats, and risked their lives to win the world's attention and the first civil rights legislation for disabled people. Judy's bravery, persistence, and signature rebellious streak will speak to every person fighting to belong and fighting for social justice.

GRAPHIC NOVELS

Come check out the library's graphic novels collection, now on display near the elevator.

THE TOP TEN

Top Ten Facts You Might Not Know About the Library

Academic Video Online is not just academic, there's tons more in this database, including a lot of BBC shows like Miss Marple. Check it out here https://video.alexanderstreet.com/channel/academic-video-online
Naxos Music Library is not just for academic purposes either. There are popular and classic, English and other language pieces here that you can listen to and learn about. You can even make playlists and more. Check it out here https://libguides.sunysccc.edu/naxosmusiclibrary
We not only have books for classes and research, we also have large collections of books for teens, children, young adults, adult leisure reading, graphic novels and manga, and so much more.
If we don't have the book or article you want, we can try to help you get it - you can Request it in the catalog, or use our ILL form. Check it out here - https://libguides.sunysccc.edu/c.php?g=670113&p=8116940
We've got access to art as well. Want to see "The Scream" by Edvard Munch or Salvador Dali's "The Persistence of Memory," or many other artworks? Check out ArtStor here https://libguides.sunysccc.edu/artstor
Our staff has very diverse knowledge and hobbies. Stop by and chat with us if you are searching for anything, whether or not it's for class - we're always willing to help you find out more about anything.
You can get help with your research at any time - if we're not open you can use Ask Us 24/7 available on our homepage to contact a college librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Check it out here - https://libguides.sunysccc.edu
We've started to digitize our archives. Want to know about the history of SUNY Schenectady? Check out what we have scanned so far here - https://libguides.sunysccc.edu/sunydspace
We have started adding instructional videos and handouts to our website - if you don't see what you're looking for, let us know and we'll be glad to help you ou. Check it out here - https://libguides.sunysccc.edu/videos
We not only have access to music to listen to, we also have access to sheet music. You can transpose, print, and do more in Naxos Sheet Music. Check it out here - https://libguides.sunysccc.edu/naxossheetmusic

WOMEN'S HISTORY DISPLAY

March was Women's history month, and you voted on your favorite quotes by women. This quote by Julia Child was received the most votes.

EDITOR

Caroline Buff
Research & Instruction Librarian
BLC 221G
email: buffca@sunysccc.edu

In addition to editing the Begley Buzz, I oversee the library's research and instruction services, including Ask Us 24/7 online research help. I help students do research and use the library; and I work with faculty to integrate library content into in-person and online courses.