About Finding Aids
Finding aids are access tools compiled by archivists to enable researchers to find relevant items in an archival collection. Finding aids list the general contents of a collection as well as information about where the collection came from, how it was preserved over time, and any relevant contextual information that will help researchers make sense of the materials. They allow researchers to determine whether or not an archival collection will contain material that will be relevant to their research. Most finding aids describe collections at the folder level, meaning that the general contents of each folder of items are known but are not all listed individually, with the exception of very small or highly used collections. Researchers, with the help of the archivist, use the folder level descriptions to explore the collections to look for specific items that may be of interest them them.
Materials in SUNY Schenectady County Community College's Special Collections are grouped into collections based on their subject matter, and each collection has a separate finding aid. To view the finding aid, simply click on the title and a PDF version of the finding aid will be loaded into your browser.
Unprocessed or Partially Processed Collections
In addition to the collections listed above, Special Collections also contains collections that do not currently have a finding aid because they are still being processed. If you are interested in the materials found in any of these unprocessed/partially processed collections, please email Jacqueline Keleher-Hughes at kelehejs@sunysccc.edu