Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find digitized images of American magazines and journals published between 1691 and 1912.
DPLA - Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find primary source material on all periods of American history.
Europeana This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find primary source material on European history from 1200-present.
Making of America (Cornell University) This link opens in a new window
Use this database for primary source material from 1840-1900 United States.
Making of America (University of Michigan) This link opens in a new window
Use this database for primary source materials documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This collection complements Cornell University's Making of America collection.
New York Heritage This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find primary source material on New York State history.
Use a history database:
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Learn more about your topic. Use Credo to find background information, and identify key words to use as you continue your research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Start your research here. Find scholarly articles from history journals, generally from the first volume ever published, through three years ago.
World History Collection This link opens in a new window
After you've tried JSTOR, use World History Collection. It includes magazines and scholarly journals pertaining to world history.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find peer-reviewed articles in all fields of the humanities, including history.
Search the library catalog or an eBook collection:
Begley Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Use this to find books and DVDs in Begley Library, as well as ebooks to access online.
The librarian says...
What is a primary source?
Primary sources are materials that provide first-hand information that is factual, without analysis or interpretation. The accounts may be from the time they occurred or created at a later date by someone with first-hand knowledge; for example, a memoir.
Types of primary source materials may be words, images, or objects.
Some examples are:
- Artifacts like fossils, furnuture, clothing, pottery or jewelry
- Original works of art, literature, or music; e.g., a novel or a painting
- Autobiographies (not biographies)
- Government documents; e.g., laws, presidential papers
- Vital records like birth certificates
- Diaries, letters, interviews, manuscripts
- Personal narratives
- Photographs, postcards, maps
- Published results of clinical trials or experiments
- Newspaper and magazine articles that contain first-hand factual accounts