Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Anglo-Saxon Chronicle
Records early viking raids on the British Isles.
Icelandic Saga Database
All the extant Icelandic family sagas in an easily readable format using modernized Icelandic spelling, with Old Norse versions and translations into English and other languages made available where these exist in the public domain.
Project Gutenberg: Snorri Sturluson (1179 – 23 September 1241)
Links to works by Snorri Sturluson including:
The Younger Edda; Also called Snorre's Edda, or The Prose Edda
Heimskringla; Or, The Chronicle of the Kings of Norway
The Sagas of Olaf Tryggvason and of Harald the Tyrant (Harald Haardraade)
Use these library databases to find articles on vikings and other topics.
Learn more about your topic. Use Credo to find background information, and identify key words to use as you continue your research. Credo is authoritative alternative to Wikipedia.
Start your research here. Find scholarly articles from history journals, generally from the first volume ever published, through three years ago.
After you've tried JSTOR, use World History Collection. It includes magazines and scholarly journals pertaining to history.
World History Collection
Use Humanities Source next. This database contains peer-reviewed articles in all fields of the humanities, including history.
Search the library catalog or an ebook collection:
Begley Library Catalog
Use this to find books and DVDs in Begley Library, as well as ebooks to access online.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Use this to find ebooks in many academic subject areas. To search this and other ebook collections all at once, use the Begley Library catalog advanced search, limited to collection: electronic resources / ebook.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Use this to find ebooks in academic subject areas. To search this and other ebook collections all at once, use the Begley Library catalog advanced search, limited to collection: electronic resources / ebook.
The librarian says...
What is a primary source?
Primary sources are materials that provide first-hand information that is factual, without analysis or interpretation. The accounts may be from the time they occurred or created at a later date by someone with first-hand knowledge; for example, a memoir.
Types of primary source materials may be words, images, or objects.
Some examples are:
- Artifacts like fossils, furnuture, clothing, pottery or jewelry
- Original works of art, literature, or music; e.g., a novel or a painting
- Autobiographies (not biographies)
- Government documents; e.g., laws, presidential papers
- Vital records like birth certificates
- Diaries, letters, interviews, manuscripts
- Personal narratives
- Photographs, postcards, maps
- Published results of clinical trials or experiments
- Newspaper and magazine articles that contain first-hand factual accounts
Find more books
Recommended search terms:
- europe history 392-814
- europe history 476-1492
- great britain history anglo saxon period
- iceland history
- middle ages
- scandinavia history to 1397
- viking civilization
- vikings history