Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Have a topic? Start here.
Academic Search Complete
Start your research here. This database contains many social work journals, as well as journals on other subjects, too, so be sure to choose appropriate search terms to focus your search effectively. If you're looking for peer-reviewed journals, choose Limit your results: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals on the search page.
Social Sciences Full Text
This database contains a smaller collection of Social Work journals. Limit your results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals if needed. This can be done on the search page.
No topic? Start here.
Child Abuse and Neglect
Topics covered in this journal include: children’s safety, factors involved in the ability of parents or caregivers to keep children safe, programs and systems in place to keep children safe, children’s recovery from violations of personal safety, and parents’ or caregivers’ experience and attitudes in regard to these topics. Articles are geared to professionals in social service, health, mental health, and justice systems; as well as general readers interested in children’s safety in the settings of everyday life.
Child & Adolescent Social Work Journal
This journal focuses on social work practice with children, adolescents, and their families. It addresses current issues drawn from theory, direct practice, research, and social policy; and examines problems affecting specific populations in special settings. 12 month embargo.
This journal keeps readers abreast of the special problems facing millions of children—children who are homeless, abused, new to this country, severely disabled. It links the latest findings in child welfare and related research with the best practice, policy, and program development.
Contemporary Drug Problems
This journal publishes research on alcohol and other psychoactive drugs, licit and illicit. It includes research articles that contribute to social, cultural, historical, or epidemiological knowledge and theory concerning drug use and related problems. This journal’s audience is social researchers, policy makers and practitioners working in health, social services, public policy, criminal justice, and law enforcement. 12 month embargo.
Health & Social Work
Topics include aging, clinical work, long-term care, oncology, substance abuse, depression, and maternal health. Articles also cover research, policy, specialized services, quality assurance, in-service training, and other topics that affect the delivery of health care services. The journal’s audience is human services professionals. 12 month embargo.
Journal of Child & Family Studies
Subjects addressed in this journal include the mental well-being of children, adolescents, and their families. The journal translates the latest research results into practical applications for clinicians and healthcare practitioners, by addressing all facets of emotional disorders, including issues associated with identification, diagnosis, treatment, rehabilitation, and prevention. Original papers detail basic and applied research, program evaluation, service delivery, and policy issues on emotional or behavioral disorders, child abuse and neglect, respite care, foster care, mental health care financing, homelessness, family stress, AIDS, and substance abuse, among other timely topics. 12 month embargo.
Journal of Children & Poverty
This journal publishes original research in the areas of education, health, public policy, and the socioeconomic causes and effects of poverty in the developed world.
Journal of Social Work Practice
This journal promotes the use of psychodynamic and systemic perspectives to explore and explain social work practice and relationship-based practice. It publishes papers based on empirical research, theory and practice experience from the UK and around the world, all of which are anonymously reviewed by two peer reviewers. The journal aims to support and enliven practitioners and academics alike through deep and thoughtful exploration of matters relevant to contemporary practice. 18 month embargo.
This journal publishes articles on all aspects of social work and social welfare that yield new insights into established practices, evaluate new techniques and research, examine current social problems, or provide critical analysis on problems in the profession. 12 month embargo.
Social Work Research
This journal publishes articles, review articles and commentary focusing on social work and practice-based research, evaluation and research studies contributing to knowledge about social work issues and problems. 12 month embargo.
The librarian says...
What is a journal? What is a database?
- focus on a specific discipline
- are published regularly
- contain articles written by experts
- articles are peer-reviewed
- articles are written for experts, not the general public
- are collections of many journals, magazines, ebooks or other sources, accessible online
- are searchable by subject, author, title, date, or other criteria