Skip to Main Content

February 2024: Home

WELCOME

Welcome to the Begley Buzz, Begley Library's monthly newsletter. This issue contains the latest news about library collections and services available to members of the SUNY Schenectady community.

NEW YORK TIMES

You have free access to the New York Times courtesy of Begley Library!

Your access includes NYTimes.com, AND The New York Times InEducation, which provides curated reading lists across several subjects, such as English, Biology, Environmental Science, Leadership, and more. 

Activate your free account here: https://www.nytimes.com/activate-access/digitalpass, and note that you must use your SUNY Schenectady email to set up your account.  

After you've set up your account, visit NYTimes.com and NYTimesInEducation.com and start exploring!

The New York Times inEducation screenshot

COMPUTER HELP

Sign that says welcome to the learning center with table and chairs in the learning center in the background

If you need help with computer skills, stop by the Writing and Research table in the Learning Center on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 2:00-4:00. Librarian Matthew Montalbano is available to answer your computer and research questions at that time. 

LIBRARY HOURS

The library is located in the Begley Learning Commons.  Have a research assignment?  Ask one of our friendly, knowledgeable librarians for help.

Day Open Close
Monday 8:00am 9:00pm
Tuesday 8:00am 9:00pm
Wednesday 8:00am 9:00pm
Thursday 8:00am 9:00pm
Friday 8:00am 4:30pm
Saturday 10:00am 2:30pm
Sunday Closed
   

Reminder: Virtual Assistance is ALWAYS available.  Chat online with a college librarian 24 hours a day, 365 days a year with Ask Us 24/7.

SOCIAL MEDIA

Follow us on Facebook!

NEW BOOKS

Visit the library to borrow these and other books. Your ID card is your library card, so please remember to bring it with you!

Visit the library to borrow these and other books. Your ID card is your library card, so please remember to bring it with you!

CURATED COLLECTIONS

Discover a new way to explore library collections! 

The library has a new way to help you easily see what books and online content we have in a given subject area. 

To get started, click the Collection Discovery link in the library catalog. 

There are currently 22 collection areas to explore.

Choose a collection to explore content in that area.

COME DISCOVER OUR FEBRUARY DISPLAYS

EDITOR

Photo of Caroline Buff in her office

Caroline Buff
Research & Instruction Librarian
BLC 211G
email: buffca@sunysccc.edu

In addition to editing the Begley Buzz, I oversee the library's research and instruction services, including Ask Us 24/7 online research help.  I help students do research and use the library; and I work with faculty to integrate library content into in-person and online courses.