Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Have a topic? Start here.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Start your research here. This database contains many sociology journals. If you're looking for peer-reviewed articles, choose Advanced search, and select More Options: Peer Reviewed Journals. You can also specify publication date.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Use this database if you can't find what you're looking for in Academic One File. This database contains many sociology journals, and many journals on other subjects, too, so be sure to choose appropriate search terms to focus your search effectively. If you're looking for peer-reviewed journals, choose Limit your results: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals on the search page.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Use this database to research topics in the social sciences, including: communications, economics, family studies, gender studies, mass media, minority studies, political science, public welfare, social work, urban studies, and more.
No topic? Start here.
Child Abuse and Neglect
Topics covered in this journal include: children’s safety, factors involved in the ability of parents or caregivers to keep children safe, programs and systems in place to keep children safe, children’s recovery from violations of personal safety, and parents’ or caregivers’ experience and attitudes in regard to these topics. Articles are geared to professionals in social service, health, mental health, and justice systems; as well as general readers interested in children’s safety in the settings of everyday life.
Children and Youth Services Review
This journal contains scholarly articles regarding service programs for children and youth. The journal includes full-length articles, current research and policy notes, and book reviews.
Contemporary Drug Problems
This journal publishes research on alcohol and other psychoactive drugs, licit and illicit. It includes research articles that contribute to social, cultural, historical, or epidemiological knowledge and theory concerning drug use and related problems. This journal’s audience is social researchers, policy makers and practitioners working in health, social services, public policy, criminal justice, and law enforcement. 12 month embargo.
This journal contains articles on basic and applied research on the relationships between men and women; on similarities & differences in socialization, personality, & behavior; & on the changing roles of women around the world. 12 month embargo.
International Journal of Law, Crime and Justice
This journal contains high quality research and analysis in the areas of socio-legal studies and the psychology of law, criminology and social justice studies. The Journal includes papers based on empirical research, theoretical analysis and debate, and policy analysis and critique.
Journal of Family Violence
JOFV publishes research on preventing, ending, and ameliorating all forms of family violence. Articles cover the broad categories of child abuse and maltreatment, domestic and partner violence, and elder abuse. Within these categories, JOFV emphasizes research on physical violence, psychological violence, sexual violence, and homicides that occur in families. Studies on families in all their various forms and diversities are included. JOFV publishes studies using quantitative, qualitative, and/or mixed methods involving the collection of primary data. 12 month embargo.
The librarian says...
What is a journal? What is a database?
- focus on a specific discipline
- are published regularly
- contain articles written by experts
- articles are peer-reviewed
- articles are written for experts, not the general public
- are collections of many journals, magazines, ebooks or other sources, accessible online
- are searchable by subject, author, title, date, or other criteria