Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Great sources for art and artists:
Find high-quality images from the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars and artists. Re-use images in class projects, PowerPoint presentations, etc. All images are cleared for educational, scholarly and non-commercial use.
The Art Story - Understanding modern art
The Art Story aims to sort through all the noise of the art world and shed light on modern and contemporary art. Also, see information about current art exhibitions in New York.
The Getty Museum
Discover how to analyze the formal aspects of a work of art by learning about the elements of art and principles of design that are used by artists working in various media.
Google Arts & Culture
Virtually 'walk' around museums all around the world. Google Art Project is an online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative’s partner museums.
The Italian Renaissance
This site is intended primarily to be an introduction to the Renaissance in Italy for students and lovers of art and history alike. Highlighted here are many of the major works of the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, including information and analysis of these great works of art and architecture.
Metropolitan Museum of Art - Heilbrunn Timelines
The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool. The Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of Western (European) fine arts of the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Realism, and Impressionism periods (1000-1900), currently containing over 35.100 reproductions. Artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, period music, catalog, free postcard and mobile services are provided.
Search the library catalog or an ebook collection:
Begley Library Catalog
Use this to find books and DVDs in Begley Library, as well as ebooks to access online.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Use this to find ebooks in many academic subject areas. To search this and other ebook collections all at once, use the Begley Library catalog advanced search, limited to collection: electronic resources / ebook.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Use this to find ebooks in academic subject areas. To search this and other ebook collections all at once, use the Begley Library catalog advanced search, limited to collection: electronic resources / ebook.
The librarian says...
Find videos on art, artists, and art history on Kanopy, the library's online film collection.
To access Kanopy off-campus, enter your SCCC login and password when prompted.