Skip to main content

Journals & Databases during COVID-19: Home

This guide is a list of now free access to different journals, eBooks, and databases during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Free journals

Annual Reviews Journals:

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.

 

JSTOR Free access to Public Health journals:

To help support the JSTOR community during this challenging time, we and our participating publishers have made 26 newly released Public Health journals available for free access through June 30, 2020. Topics addressed include Epidemiology, Health Policy and Administration, Occupational and Environmental Health, Health Equity and the Culture of Health, Aging, Bioethics, and Health Promotion. Through 12/31/2020.

 

 

Project Muse free resources list:

The following publishers have chosen to temporarily make content freely available on Project MUSE. Each publisher designates the specific content and for how long it will be freely available on MUSE. We will update this list on a daily basis. Through 6/30/2020.

 

Free databases

ACM Digital Library Open Access to During Coronavirus Pandemic (Association for Computing Machinery):

The Full-Text Collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.  A collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers.  The ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.  A richly interlinked set of connections among authors, works, institutions, and specialized communities.

 

British History Online:

BHO was founded by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust in 2003. Our collection currently contains over 1,270 volumes and is always growing. To 31 July 2020 we're making all transcribed BHO content freely available for individual users. This adds 200 volumes of primary materials. As a result, BHO's full complement of 1280 volumes is now available for research. Read more about this new free content.

 

Cengage course materials (Free 14 day access):

You will need to sign up for an account. Free 14 day access is extendable if we are still experiencing COVID-19 issues.

 

JoVe Educational Videos:

The science community is working hard to address the potential health crisis brought about by the outbreak of a novel coronavirus (COVID-19). To support these critical efforts, JoVE has made its coronavirus focused content and related resources freely available.

 

The Knowledge Bank (Ohio State University Press):

The Knowledge Bank, a service of The Ohio State University Libraries, collects, preserves, and distributes the intellectual output of The Ohio State University. Faculty, staff, and students are invited to deposit their research and scholarship. Departments, administrative units, programs, and centers are invited to use the Knowledge Bank to distribute their working papers, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other research material.

 

Project Muse Open Access content on:

Project MUSE offers open access (OA) books and journals from several distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Through our open access hosting programs, we are able to offer publishers a platform for their OA content which ensures visibility, discoverability, and wide dissemination. These books and journals are freely available to libraries and users around the world.

ProQuest Research Companion:

That’s why ProQuest is opening up access to key components of Research Companion, a resource that helps college and undergraduate university students develop the crucial critical thinking and information literacy skills they need to do scholarly research. Available until 6/30/20.

 

Free eBooks

Internet Archive:

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

 

JSTOR Open Access eBooks:

More than 6,000 Open Access ebooks from 75+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.

 

University of Michigan Press eBooks:

University of Michigan Press is a leading publisher and distributor of books and digital projects in the humanities and social sciences that are aligned with the strengths of its parent institution. Areas of particular focus are performing arts; classical studies; political science; American studies (especially disability and class studies); Asian and African studies. The Press makes most books available electronically, and provides direct access to libraries through its own publishing platform, Fulcrum. Through 6/30/2020.

 

Ask Us 24/7

Ask Us 24/7

VISIT US

Visit Us:

 Day Open Close

Monday - Thursday

8:30 AM 2:30 PM
Friday Virtual assistance  
Saturday & Sunday Virtual assistance  

 

General FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I access databases off-campus?

Enter your SCCC login and password when prompted. It is the same login and password that you use for Blackboard, SCCC email, and the college wireless network.

 

What is my login and password?

Use the Records & Registration page on the college website to find your login and password.

 

My login and password is not working.

Call the SCCC Help Desk at: (518) 381-1487 or email: helpdesk@sunysccc.edu.

CALL US

Contact the library

CALL US: (518) 381-1235