Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

January 2023: Home

 

WELCOME

Welcome to the Begley Buzz, Begley Library's monthly newsletter. Read on to learn what's happening in the library this month.

NEW TO THE COLLECTION

Here is a selection of books recently added to the library's collection. These are all available for check-out. If you need help finding them, ask a librarian.

We have been working on adding more to our collection of graphic novels! There are many reasons why graphic novels are important and enjoyable. They build vocabulary, develop visual literacy, aid in comprehension, engage readers of all ages, and are fast-paced! Here are a few that have been added in the past month.

The collection you see in the library is merely the tip of the iceberg. Most of the library's content is available through our online databases. Library databases are collections of content that are easily searchable. Some databases specialize in a specific subject area, others in a specific content type, while others contain content in many subject areas and content types. Read the description beneath the database title to learn more about each database. 

Some of the databases recently added to our collection include:

PHOTOS

Lucy's memories are intertwined with food. What was she eating? How did it taste? What had she learned in those moments where her time in the kitchen impacted her life the most? Take a ride with Lucy through her taste-memories, sprinkle in her favorite recipes, and watch her life come alive on each page.
books on display in library

Books on display in the library

LIBRARY DISPLAY

What's your favorite soup?

What's your favorite soup? Stop by the library's display (near the elevator) to share recipes!

TOP TEN PRINT PERIODICALS

The Top 10 Print Periodicals in the Begley Library

In alphabetical order:

The Advocate – an American LGBT magazine printed bi-monthly with an editorial focus on news, politics, opinion, and arts and entertainment of interest to lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgender people.

Cook’s Illustrated – an American cooking magazine published every two months by the America’s Test Kitchen company in Brookline, MA.

DownBeat – an American music magazine devoted to jazz, blues and beyond.

Entrepreneur – a magazine for business owners, offering inspiration and information on marketing, management, technology, and the latest trends and strategies.

Flight Training – offers the insight and counsel of experienced pilot-authors to help both instructors and pilots-in-training. Published by Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association based in Frederick, MD.

Game Informer – an American monthly video game magazine featuring articles, news, strategy, and reviews of video games and associated consoles.

Lodging – the official publication of the American Hotel & Lodging Association, offering hotel news, lodging news, hotel business tips, hospitality industry coverage, and hotel trends.

The New Brewer Magazine – published by Brewers Publications, this magazine offers insights and advice for small and independent American craft breweries of all sizes.

Psychology Today – an American media organization published bi-monthly with a focus on psychology and human behavior.

EDITOR

Caroline Buff
Research & Instruction Librarian
BLC 221G
email: buffca@sunysccc.edu

In addition to editing the Begley Buzz, I oversee the library's research and instruction services, including Ask Us 24/7 online research help.  I help students do research and use the library; and I work with faculty to integrate library content into in-person and online courses.