Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Making of America (Cornell University)
Use this database for primary source material from 1840-1900 United States. This collection includes 267 books and over 100,000 journal articles from the 19th century.
Making of America (University of Michigan)
Use this database for primary source materials documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. 1,600 books and ten journals published from 1850 - 1877. This collection complements Cornell University's Making of America collection.
DPLA - Digital Public Library of America
Use this database to find primary source material on all periods of American history. It is a digital library of photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents and more, from libraries, archives, museums and other cultural heritage institutions.
Use these library databases to find articles on topics in American history.
Learn more about your topic. Use Credo to find background information, and identify key words to use as you continue your research. Credo is authoritative alternative to Wikipedia.
Start your research here. Find scholarly articles from history journals, generally from the first volume ever published, through three years ago.
World History Collection
After you've tried JSTOR, use World History Collection. It includes magazines and scholarly journals pertaining to history.
Use Humanities Source next. This database contains peer-reviewed articles in all fields of the humanities, including history.
Search the library catalog or an eBook collection:
Begley Library Catalog
Use this to find books and DVDs in Begley Library, as well as ebooks to access online.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Use this to find ebooks in many academic subject areas. To search this and other ebook collections all at once, use the Begley Library catalog advanced search, limited to collection: electronic resources / ebook.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Use this to find ebooks in academic subject areas. To search this and other ebook collections all at once, use the Begley Library catalog advanced search, limited to collection: electronic resources / ebook.
The librarian says...
What is a primary source?
Primary sources are materials that provide first-hand information that is factual, without analysis or interpretation. The accounts may be from the time they occurred or created at a later date by someone with first-hand knowledge; for example, a memoir.
Types of primary source materials may be words, images, or objects.
Some examples are:
- Artifacts like fossils, furnuture, clothing, pottery or jewelry
- Original works of art, literature, or music; e.g., a novel or a painting
- Autobiographies (not biographies)
- Government documents; e.g., laws, presidential papers
- Vital records like birth certificates
- Diaries, letters, interviews, manuscripts
- Personal narratives
- Photographs, postcards, maps
- Published results of clinical trials or experiments
- Newspaper and magazine articles that contain first-hand factual accounts