Skip to main content

Begley Buzz 2016

The View From Behind the Desk

Tis the season for printer jams in the library! 

It’s like clockwork; as the end of the semester approaches, we experience more and more printer jams. As the volume of printing in the library increases, so does the frequency of printer jams. Unfortunately, counter to students’ expectations, library staff aren’t trained printer technicians, and sometimes problems arise and we need to call a real printer technician. Printing may be slowed down or even halted until the problem is resolved. Especially during the last few weeks of the semester when printing is more time-sensitive, and student needs are more urgent, printing problems can become extremely stressful situations for our students.  With that in mind, here are some ideas to help student printing run smoothly:

  • If you’re requiring students to print a document, make sure the document is saved in an easily printable format, like a Word document or a PDF document.
  • Test the document to see if you can easily print it out.
  • If you’re requiring students to print out a document that is over 15 pages long, consider involving the duplicating center.
  • Do you have a unique printing situation? Let us know. We'll be happy to work with you to come up with a solution.

Many of you are already doing these things. While these tips won’t prevent all printing problems, they should help reduce some student frustration. 

By Caroline Buff, Research & Instruction Librarian

Are You Ready...? MLA 8th Edition

The eighth edition of the MLA Handbook, published in 2016, rethinks documentation for an era of digital publication. It recommends a universal set of guidelines that writers can apply to any source. Instead of basing the citation format on what type of publication the source is (for example: book, ebook, website, etc.), writers now create citations based on nine core elements that most works have.

Starting with the spring semester, handouts supporting the eighth edition of the MLA handbook will be available in Begley Library. We'll gradually phase out the 7th edition. Handouts and support for the seventh edition will continue to be available through the spring semester.

Learn to use Persistent Links

Have you ever tried to post a link to online library content, only to see something like this the next time you click on the link?

EBSCO error message

You need to create a persistent link, also known as a durable link or a permalink. Follow these easy instructions:

How to create a persistent link to online library content

What you need:

  • Proxy prefix
  • Persistent link

What is a persistent link?

A persistent link is a link that connects directly to the full-text article, ebook or other online library content. Use one of these tutorials to learn how to create persistent links in three of our most popular databases:

What is a proxy prefix?

A proxy prefix allows off-campus users to connect with online library content.  If the proxy prefix is prepended to the persistent link, users will be prompted to sign in with their SCCC login and password for off-campus access. If you omit the proxy prefix, users will only be able to access the resource on campus.

SCCC Proxy prefix:

http://libproxy.sunysccc.edu/login?url=

Here is an example of a proxy prefix + persistent link:

http://libproxy.sunysccc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=113801922&site=ehost-live

New Books

A selection of new books, organized by call number.

Want the library to order something for you?  Use ILLiad to place your request.

illiad

 

Leisure Reading

reading by a fireplace

Winter break is an excellent time to relax and read with those you love.  Curl up with a good book or DVD from our collection!

Reader Poll

The citation style I want my students to use is:
APA: 1 votes (16.67%)
Chicago: 0 votes (0%)
MLA v.7: 1 votes (16.67%)
MLA v.8: 3 votes (50%)
Any style they like: 1 votes (16.67%)
No style: 0 votes (0%)
Other: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 6

Collection Spotlight

Career and Job Resources: Begley Library Career Collection Has It Covered!

Students often look to their professors, administrators and staff for advice and information about topics such as what career to choose or how to begin a job search.  Students may seek to brush up on job search skills during a college recess, learn the best way to handle a phone interview, the steps to networking success, or even how to get a job in half the time.  As well as Career Services, please guide students to Begley Library’s Career Resources Collection which has these topics, and more, covered!

An excellent place for students to begin researching careers is with our Career Collection reference works.  The Career Resources Collection hosts excellent print sources on selecting specific careers as well as industry and job projections.  This Collection is located on the left as one enters the Library.  The Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th edition, is a 5-volume set by Ferguson, the noted career publisher (REF Career HF5381 .E52).  Students also find help in exploring careers through Progressive Careers, Volumes 1-4 by JIST, America’s career publisher (REF Career HF5381 .P76).  This multi-volume set includes: Vol. 1: Nontraditional Careers for Women and Men; Vol. 2: STEM Careers; Vol. 3: High-Growth Careers (occupations with the best opportunities); and Vol. 4: Green Careers (best opportunities for work helping the environment).  Another reliable source is Exploring Health Care Careers, Vols. 1-2, by Infobase Publishing (REF Career R690 .E97) which treats a wide range of career choices within the field.

For those focusing on crafting resumes and cover letters that get results, you may suggest that they consult the Encyclopedia of Job-Winning Resumes (REF Career HF5383 .F77), including 400 proven resumes for all fields and 40 attention-garnering cover letters.  An excellent guide for students without much time is The Quick Resume and Cover Letter Book: Write and Use an Effective Resume in Only One Day (Career HF5383 .F32).  For those seeking information on local career opportunities, the Library’s yellow periodicals shelves provide the monthly issues of the NYS Labor Department’s Employment in NYS: Research and Statistics, which tracks what industries are gaining or losing jobs.

Do you have a student in a special situation such as a veteran, physically-challenged, or on the autism spectrum?  Some of our Career Collection circulating books are focused on situations such as these.  Titles include: Expert Resumes for Military-to-Civilian Transitions (Career HF5383 .E47885), which includes 170 pages of resumes and cover letters designed for former service members; Job Search Handbook for People with Disabilities (Career HV1568.5 .R93); and, Turning Skills and Strengths Into Careers for Young Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder (Career HV3005 .R54), to name a few.  Students simply present their SCCC ID cards to check out books. 

Begley Library also hosts online career resources guides that are accessible  from the Library’s web page: www.sunysccc.edu/library.  Click on Research Guides, then scroll down and click on Career & Job Hunting.  There are presently four online career guides to select from: “Career & Job Hunting,” “CGM 101: Intro to the Gaming Industry,” “HSC: Health Professions,” and “TAT121: Intro to Hospitality.”  Thus, at present, a general career guide is presented, along with three industry-specific career resources. 

As so many of our SCCC students work while also attending college, Begley Library is currently hosting a book display entitled “Perfect Your Job Search Skills!”  for students seeking to create resumes, and brush up on cover letter writing, networking, interviewing, and other practical career skills to advance in the job market.  This exhibit will run into the Spring semester 2017, and offers accompanying material for students.  The following works are included. To clinch that first job after earning their college degree, particularly helpful titles on exhibit are:  Working in Your Major: How to Find a Job When You Graduate (Career HF5382.7 .G45); Creating Your First Resume: A Step-by-Step Guide to Write Your First Competitive Resume (Career HF5383 .T76); and Cover Letter Magic (Career HF5383 .E4787), rated a Library Journal career guide best-seller.  The display is located on the first floor of Begley Library near the staircase to the second floor.  Begley reference librarians are happy to assist with locating additional print titles and eBooks.

Finally, day or night, your class always has help available for locating career information.  Please remind students that they have access to online reference assistance 24 hours-a-day, 365 days-a-year!  Simply direct students to click on the Ask Us 24/7 button at the top right of Begley Library’s web page, then type in their question.  A college librarian will provide students with reference help in real time chat. Thus, Begley Library’s Career Resources Collection provides comprehensive job hunting and career information for your students!

By Tracy A. Salvage, M.L.S., Librarian

Looking for More?

Cover image

Hours:

Extended Hours for Finals Week (December 17-23)
Saturday: 11:00 am - 11:45 pm
Sunday: CLOSED
Monday - Wednesday: 8:00 am - 11:45 pm
Thursday: 8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Intersession (December 24-January 16)
OPEN: Monday - Friday: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
CLOSED: Saturday, December 24 - Monday, December 26
Saturday, December 31 - Monday, January 2
Saturday, January 7 - Sunday, January 8
Saturday, January 14 - Monday, January 16

Reminder!
Even when the library is closed, you can still use books, articles, and other library materials and services online, including Ask Us 24/7 library assistance, available 365 days a year, 24 hours a day.

Editor

Caroline Buff's picture
Caroline Buff
Contact:
Caroline Buff
Research and Instruction Librarian
Elston 130
518-381-1251